The beginning of every spiritual path and of every search for the truth is the correct understanding of suffering. This would be the supreme teaching of the Buddha, and from this awareness of suffering, a whole process would be awakened that would lead to enlightenment.

Many people take Buddhism as a philosophy of life rather than a religion, thanks to the simplicity with which they transmit their messages full of wisdom, helping us to improve our quality of life.

The only thing that is needed is to open our hearts and minds to delve into it. That is why in most of my podcasts I always refer to some Buddhist teaching and in this case it would not be the exception.

4 Noble Truths of the Buddha, the essence of his teachings.

Buddha said, “Pain is inevitable; suffering is optional.” Both are part of life. Grief is a natural reaction to an unexpected event and can come at any time: when a loved one dies, when an important relationship ends, or when you lose your job.

Grief is usually related to a significant loss or to a duel, but if we let it flow properly, it would be an emotion that we could fight without problem. On the other hand, suffering is something that we create by resisting pain. It is a choice and can last a lifetime even if the cause of it has already happened. We don’t like to face negative emotions, so we ‘bear’ them.

The more resistance we give them, the more difficult it will be to get out of that darkness. It is necessary to accept it and feel it in order to get through it.

That is why I would like to share with you the 4 noble truths of suffering on which Buddha based a good part of the practice of his philosophy on transmitting them to others. These are the foundations of Buddhist philosophy. There are four basic facts that summarize a path to understanding and overcoming problems.

The First Noble Truth: The Noble Truth of Suffering

Buddha said that the nature of earthly life is suffering. To be born is to suffer, to get sick is to suffer, to grow old is to suffer, to die is to suffer.

These four stages are easy to understand. What also causes suffering is being associated with what is not wanted, separating from what you want and not achieving what you want. What you want or desire can be anything: a situation, a job, a material good such as a car or a house, or even a person.

There is only one way to understand these pains: to go through them. These sufferings are conditioned, that is, they revolve around what is wanted, and they usually arise and end throughout life since nothing lasts forever.

The Second Truth: The Noble Truth of the Origin of Suffering

The origin of suffering is desire, or rather, attachment. There are two great emotions in our being: love and fear. Fear is responsible for all bad thoughts, especially desire and attachment.

We suffer when we want reality to be different from what is happening. We cling to what we want: “I should have a better job, I should have more money, it should be hot,” and when our wishes are not satisfied, we suffer irremediably.

If you want reality to be different from what it is, try teaching a cat to bark, and you will have the same result. Accept your reality.

The Third Truth: The Noble Truth of the Cessation of Suffering

The way to stop suffering is not only detachment, but also eliminating all those impurities from the mind: hatred, anger, and vanity.  Buddhism says that the cause of our difficulties is in our mind and not in the external world, we also have the solution.

We can’t change what happens, but we can change how we react to what happens.If we undo our confusion about reality, the problems will not return. Remember that thoughts about reality are what cause the true pain in humanity.

The Fourth Truth: The Noble Truth of the Path that Leads Away from Suffering

Buddha leaves us the responsibility of this liberation through the noble eightfold path. It explains that life goes hand in hand with suffering but always has a cause that can be treated and alleviated in order to transcend and advance in peace.

Noble Eightfold Path

We just have to put into practice eight very specific keys that are related to each part of your life:

Right understanding: It is about knowing the noble truths and understanding that nothing in this life is eternal, that everything has a course, a beginning, and an end.

Right Thought: Though we think without attachment, with true love, our thoughts determine the quality of our life.

Right Speech: It consists of refraining from the use of erroneous forms of language. You should not lie, defame or hurt others. On the contrary, we must speak with sweet, pleasant, useful words. We must not speak for the sake of speaking.

Right Action: There must be moral, honorable, and peaceful conduct. Kindness brings balance, respect and humility give us inner peace.

Right Livelihood: Our actions, no matter how big or small they may be, should always be geared towards doing good.

Right effort: We are going to prevent the emergence of new bad thoughts and we will eliminate the current ones. Likewise, we will encourage the creation of new good thoughts and we will keep the current ones alive.

Right Mindfulness: Consists of paying attention to our body, to sensations and emotions, to the activities of the mind, and to ideas and conceptions.

Right Concentration: The last step of the eightfold noble sender refers to meditation. A calm mind relieves worries and quenches suffering. It is a way of liberating ourselves and reaching enlightenment.

True suffering has to be known; the real cause of suffering has to be eliminated; the true cessation of suffering needs to be achieved; and the true mind that is the path needs to be realized.

Buddha left humanity the example that every human being can reach enlightenment, the possibility of freeing himself from all selfishness and existential suffering.

Taking these noble truths as a reference or as an exercise in reflection can help us improve our quality of life, and we will easily achieve peace of mind, well-being, and liberation. Why not? The lighting

“What you are is what you have been. What you will be is what you do now.” – Buddha

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *